The Spectroscopy Village at Diamond Light Source

Sofia Diaz-Moreno*, Monica Amboage, Mark Basham, Roberto Boada, Nicolas E. Bricknell, Giannantonio Cibin, Thomas M. Cobb, Jacob Filik, Adam Freeman, Kalotina Geraki, Diego Gianolio, Shusaku Hayama, Konstantin Ignatyev, Luke Keenan, Iuliia Mikulska, J. Frederick W. Mosselmans, James J. Mudd, Stephen A. Parry

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleResearchpeer-review

36 Citations (Scopus)


This manuscript presents the current status and technical details of the Spectroscopy Village at Diamond Light Source. The Village is formed of four beamlines: I18, B18, I20-Scanning and I20-EDE. The village provides the UK community with local access to a hard X-ray microprobe, a quick-scanning multi-purpose XAS beamline, a high-intensity beamline for X-ray absorption spectroscopy of dilute samples and X-ray emission spectroscopy, and an energy-dispersive extended X-ray absorption fine-structure beamline. The optics of B18, I20-scanning and I20-EDE are detailed; moreover, recent developments on the four beamlines, including new detector hardware and changes in acquisition software, are described.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)998-1009
Number of pages12
JournalJournal of Synchrotron Radiation
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - Jul 2018


  • energy-dispersive EXAFS
  • microfocus spectroscopy
  • X-ray absorption spectroscopy
  • X-ray emission spectroscopy


Dive into the research topics of 'The Spectroscopy Village at Diamond Light Source'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this