Four molecular superconductors isolated as nanoparticles

Dominique De Caro, Christophe Faulmann, Lydie Valade, Kane Jacob, Imane Chtioui, Soukaina Foulal, Pascale De Caro, Manon Bergez-Lacoste, Jordi Fraxedas, Belén Ballesteros, James S. Brooks, Eden Steven, Laurel E. Winter

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticleResearchpeer-review

    14 Citations (Scopus)


    Copyright © 2014 WILEY-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim. (TMTSF)2PF6 and (TMTSF)2ClO4 Bechgaard salts, (BEDT-TTF)2I3, and TTF[Ni(dmit)2]2 [TMTSF = tetramethyltetraselenafulvalene; BEDT-TTF = bis(ethylenedithio)tetrathiafulvalene; TTF = tetrathiafulvalene; dmit = 1,3-dithiole-2-thione-4,5-dithiolate] are among the most popular molecular superconductors. They are grown as nanoparticles that exhibit properties in agreement with those of the bulk. The shape, size, and homogeneity of particles depend on the stabilizing agent and synthesis conditions. We report on the more recent conditions investigated (i) to produce nanoparticles of 35 nm for β-(BEDT-TTF)2I3, (ii) to reduce the particle size to 10-15 nm for TTF[Ni(dmit)2]2 and 3-5 nm for (TMTSF)2ClO4, and (iii) to improve the growth duration from days to one hour for (TMTSF)2PF6. Finally, we report evidence of superconductivity in (TMTSF)2ClO4 particles. Four molecular superconductors have been prepared as nanoparticles by using mainly electrochemical synthesis. Among them, (TMTSF)2ClO4 (TMTSF = tetramethyltetraselenafulvalene) has been the most studied up to now and, like the bulk single crystals, it exhibits superconductivity.
    Original languageEnglish
    Pages (from-to)4010-4016
    JournalEuropean Journal of Inorganic Chemistry
    Issue number24
    Publication statusPublished - 1 Aug 2014


    • Bechgaard salts
    • Electrochemistry
    • Ionic liquids
    • Nanoparticles
    • Superconductors


    Dive into the research topics of 'Four molecular superconductors isolated as nanoparticles'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this