Graphene-based revolutions in ICT and beyond (GRAPHENE FPA)

Project Details


The proposed Framework Partnership Agreement aims to take graphene and related layered materials from a state of raw
potential to a point where they can revolutionize multiple industries – from flexible, wearable and transparent electronics, to
high performance computing and spintronics. A large European consortium of world-leading academics and key industries,
is cooperating closely to create a new disruptive technology. The scope and level of ambition of this endeavor is such that it
can only be realized through a large scale coordinated effort that integrates the entire value chain from materials to
components and systems. The rewards of the Graphene Flagship will impact the lives of Europeans with increased standard
of living through new products, job opportunities, and economic growth.
In the ten-year time frame, disruptive technologies based on graphene and other two-dimensional materials extend to new
areas such as biomedical applications, with the aim of becoming new platform materials, as ubiquitous as steel or plastics.
This progression from scientific excellence to industrial exploitation and societal impacts is the guiding principle of the
Graphene Flagship.
Effective start/end date1/04/1631/12/21

Collaborative partners

  • Chalmers University of Technology (lead)
  • Université de Montpellier I (UM1)
  • University of Padova
  • Trinity College Dublin (The Provost Fellows and Scholars of the College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth near Dublin)
  • University College Dublin (UCD)
  • The Chancellor, Masters And Scholars of the University Of Oxford
  • Christian-Albrecht University of Kiel (CAU)
  • Aalto University/Aalto korkeakoulusaatio
  • ABB Ab
  • Airbus Operations S.L.
  • Aixtron Limited
  • Alcatel Lucent Deutschland AG
  • Amalyst Limited
  • Gesellschaft für Angewandte Mikro und Optoelektronik mit Beschränkterhaftung Amo GmbH
  • Grupo Antolin-Ingeniería SA
  • Athem
  • Avanzare Innovación Tecnologica S.L.
  • Robert Bosch GmbH
  • Breton Spa
  • Belarussian State University
  • Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives
  • Stiftelsen Chalmers Industriteknik
  • Centro de Investigación Biomédica en Red (CIBER)
  • The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge
  • Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per le Telecomunicazioni (CNIT)
  • CNM Technologies GmbH
  • National Research Council of Italy
  • Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
  • Centro Ricerche Fiat SCPA
  • Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)
  • Universität Bielefeld
  • Delta Tech SPA
  • Technical University of Denmark (Danmarks Tekniske Universiteit)
  • Dyesol Italia SRL
  • Emberion Oy
  • Fund. Centro de Inv. Cooperativa de Energías Alternativas
  • École Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
  • Ericsson AB
  • Eidgenössische Materialprüfungs- und Forschungsanstalt
  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich)
  • Fondazione Bruno Kessler
  • Fondation Européenne de la Science
  • Fundación para la Investigación, Desarrollo y Aplicación de Mat. Compuestos
  • FlexEnable Ltd.
  • Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH)
  • Fraunhofer Society for the Advancement of Applied Research
  • G24 Power Limited
  • Graphenea S.A.
  • Grinp SRL
  • GlaxoSmithkline S.A.
  • Guger Technologies OG
  • HORIBA Jobin Yvon
  • Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO)
  • Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2)
  • Clinical Pharmacology Unit
  • Institut für Korrosionsschutz Dresden GmbH
  • Institute of mechanics, bulgarian academy of sciences
  • Fundación IMDEA Nanociencia
  • Imperial College of Science Technology and Medicine
  • Infineon Technologies AG
  • Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN)
  • Interuniversitair Micro-Electronica Centrum VZW
  • Instytut Technologii Materialów Elektronicznych
  • Internacional de composites SA
  • Instituto de Tecnologías Químicas Emergentes de la Rioja Interquímica
  • Italcementi Fabbriche Riunite Cemento S.P.A.
  • Fondazione istituto italiano di tecnologia
  • Ústav fyzikální chemie J. Heyrovského AV CR
  • The Bodin Karolinska Institutet
  • Karlsruhe Institue of Technology (Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik)
  • Lancaster University
  • Leonardo SPA
  • Linköping University (LiU)
  • LNE, Laboratoire national de métrologie et d'essais
  • Alcatel-Lucent Italia S.P.A.
  • Klinikum Rechts der Isar der Technischen Universitaet Muenchen
  • Max Planck Society
  • M-Solv Ltd.
  • Magyar tudományos akadémia energiatudományi kutatóközpont
  • Nanesa SRL
  • CIC Nanogune
  • Nanosc AB
  • Research and development of nanomaterials and nanotechnology nano-tech-lab ltd
  • Nokia OYJ (Finland)
  • Novalia Limited
  • NPL Management Limited
  • Nvision systems and technologies sl
  • Oxford Instruments Nanotechnology Tools Limited
  • Pixium Vision
  • Politecnico di Milano (PoliMI)
  • Politecnico di Torino
  • Queen Mary University of London (QMU)
  • Repsol, S.A.
  • University of Groningen (UG)
  • Rheinisch Westfälischen Technische Hochshule Aachen
  • Sabancı University
  • Selex ES SPA
  • Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati
  • Stichting Katholieke Universiteit
  • STMicroelectronics
  • University of Sunderland
  • Technion. Israel Institute of Technology
  • Tecnalia Research & Innovation
  • Technological Educational Institute of Crete
  • Thales
  • Technische Universität Chemnitz
  • Delft University of Technology (TUDelft)
  • Technische Universität Dresden
  • Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (Eindhoven University of Technology - TU/e)
  • Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH)
  • Techische Universität Wien (Vienna University of Technology) (TU WIEN)
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB)
  • University of Basel
  • University of Bremen
  • Catholic University of Louvain (UCL)
  • University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM)
  • University College London (UCL)
  • Itä-Suomen yliopisto
  • University of Hamburg
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Free University of Brussels - VUB)
  • Tartu Ülikool (University of Tartu)
  • Uinversität Ulm
  • University of Manchester
  • Umeå University
  • University of Minho
  • University of Nottingham
  • Universite de Namur ASBL
  • Universität Augsburg
  • University of Bologna
  • Panepistimio Kritis (University of Crete)
  • University of Erlangen–Nuremberg (FAU)
  • Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • Università degli Studi di Pisa
  • University of Regensburg (UR)
  • Università degli studi di Roma-Tor Vergata
  • Università degli Studi di Salerno
  • University of Strasbourg (UNISTRA)
  • Uniwersytet Warszawski
  • University of Zurich
  • Panepistimio Ioanninon (Univ. of Ioannina)
  • Université de Paris VI Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
  • The University of Sheffield
  • Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille I
  • Università degli Studi di Trieste
  • University of Zaragoza (UNIZAR)
  • Varta Micro Innovation GMBH
  • Teknologian tutkimuskeskus vtt oy


Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.