Department of Spanish Studies

  • Postal address

    Edifici B

    08193 Bellaterra (Cerdanyola del Vallès)


Organization profile

The Department of Spanish Philology, which is based at the Faculty of Philosophy and Letters at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, carries out research and teaching activities within the areas of Spanish Language and Literature and Literary Theory and Comparative Literature. Our department is an international reference center, with an outstanding reputation that stems from its highly qualified faculty members and the quality of its graduate and undergraduate students.

Scholars as prestigious as Sergio Beser and Claudio Guillén have been members of the Department of Spanish Philology. Important scholars who currently belong to the Department are the Emeriti Professors José Manuel Blecua (director of the Real Academia Española), Francisco Rico (also member of the Real Academia Española, the Accademia Nazionale dei Licei, and the British Academy), and Alberto Blecua (member of the Acadèmia de Bones Lletres de Barcelona). The department is also compromised of internationally renowned specialists, young faculties, researchers and PhD students, who play an important role in making the Department of Spanish Philology one of the best for both teaching and carrying out research.

Attached to the Department is the Cátedra Goytisolo, managed by Carme Riera, writer, cathedratic professor, and also member of the Real Academia Española.


Dive into the research topics where Department of Spanish Studies is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.


Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or