Department of Chemistry

  • Postal addressShow on map

    Edifici C

    08193 Bellaterra (Cerdanyola del Vallès)


Organisation profile

Organisation profile

The Department of Chemistry of the UAB is structured in four units, according to the following fields of knowledge: Analytical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and Organic Chemistry.

This website aims to provide practical information about the studies organized and carried out by this Department's academics, the research work developed by the Department's research groups and the training activities organized for both Master and Ph.D. students.

Research lines

  • Research lines:
  • Sensors and Biosensors
  • Selective Oxidation Catalysis
  • Separation Techniques
  • Green Chemistry
  • Computational Chemistry
  • Functional Materials and Organic Reactivity
  • Biosensors and Bioanalysis
  • Electrochemistry

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. Our work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 2 - Zero Hunger
  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being
  • SDG 6 - Clean Water and Sanitation
  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 8 - Decent Work and Economic Growth
  • SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  • SDG 11 - Sustainable Cities and Communities
  • SDG 12 - Responsible Consumption and Production
  • SDG 13 - Climate Action
  • SDG 14 - Life Below Water
  • SDG 15 - Life on Land
  • SDG 16 - Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions


Dive into the research topics where Department of Chemistry is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or